ADHD and homeopathy – a new review. What’s in it?

Lesedauer / Reading Time: 11 min
Notices by Tim Caulfield

A few days ago, a thread by Canadian health scientist and sceptic Timothy Caulfield made waves on Twitter. Caulfield was referring to a systematic review of ADHD treatment with individual homeopathy, specifically that a journal belonging to the Springer Nature Publishing Group (Pediatric Research) had published it. Caulfield stated that homeopathy is a method without any positive evidence (“scientifically absurd”) and expressed incomprehension about how such a topic could appear in such a renowned journal. Where had the Board of Editors been, how had it got through peer review?

This is about the work of Gaertner, K., Teut, M. & Walach, H. Is homeopathy effective for attention deficit and hyperactivity disorder? A meta-analysis. Pediatr Res (2022). https://doi.org/10.1038/s41390-022-02127-3

In addition, Caulfield’s criticism was also directed at the team of authors, all proven members of the homeopathic scene and with the not unknown Prof. Harald Walach as senior author, a personality whose scientific reputation has not exactly grown in the last pandemic years. But we don’t want to put an ad hominem in the foreground – even if the authors demonstrate their “bias” by setting the mood for reading by presenting the efficacy of homeopathy for a whole series of diseases as a fact. And the falsely stated fact [1][2] that the prevalence of ADHD (the frequency of the disease in relation to the population as a whole) is steadily increasing, does not necessarily raise expectations.

And not to forget: anyone who recognises that the basic assumptions of homeopathy, such as a general principle of similarity in nature and an amplification of effect through shaking, cannot have any validity, can also only assess empirical results on this basis as false-positive. Especially since Mr. Walach has repeatedly described the “effect” of homeopathy as “non-material” – in other words, he has actually removed it from the object of scientific research. But here he nevertheless tries – repeatedly – to provide empirical evidence in favour of homeopathy.

Well, we can certainly understand Caulfield’s criticism of the publication as such. Of course, he reflects on the fact that “Nature” in particular is to be criticised because of its sceptical-critical tradition. Nature was made great by the legendary editor John Maddox, who debunked Benveniste’s “water memory” experiments in his time and after whom an important prize for advocacy against pseudoscience is named today. And yes, it is right to criticise homeopathy in principle and also to include the fundamental implausibility of the basic homeopathic assumptions in an overall scientific assessment via the medical statistical (non-) evidence. We remember a similar process in which the mother journal had also intervened itself and it then came to a retraction of the work (“The legend of the five times eight rats“).

Now, a small or even medium Twitter storm will have little effect on the fact that this review is published and exists in reality and will undoubtedly serve as another poster child for the homeopathic scene. The only way to “get to the bottom of it” is through a more detailed analysis of this review.

Such an analysis has already been published on Prof. Edzard Ernst’s blog – and makes the question of where the Editors Board had its head and the reviewers their five senses appear to be highly justified.

We resume:

It should be mentioned at the outset that the evidence to date on the homeopathic treatment of ADHD has been more than meagre. The negative result of a review published in the Cochrane Library (Coulter and Dean 2007) was the state of affairs until now. There they came to the conclusion:

The forms of homeopathy evaluated to date do not suggest significant treatment effects for the global symptoms, core symptoms of inattention, hyperactivity or impulsivity, or related outcomes such as anxiety in Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder.

However, let us take a critical but unbiased look at how Gaertner et al. arrive at their conclusion that “individualized homeopathy showed a clinically relevant and statistically robust effect in the treatment of ADHD.”.

However, let us take a critical but unbiased look at how Gaertner et al. arrive at their conclusion that “individualised homeopathy showed a clinically relevant and statistically robust effect in the treatment of ADHD”.

The review, i.e. the evaluation and assessment of relevant studies, comprised six papers, one of which was (correctly) excluded in advance due to a lack of data reporting, because an effect size could not be calculated. As is well known, the object of a systematic review is the critical appraisal of the included studies and the conclusion to be drawn from them. Have the included studies by Gaertner et al. been evaluated critically enough? The authors themselves state that “all included studies used individualised homeopathy and were of comparable, solid quality, so that a lack of methodological rigour is unlikely to be the reason for the difference between homeopathy and controls…”. So one wants to prevent methodological criticism right from the start.

But is that so?

Perhaps not.

    • The authors’ own classification sees three of the six included papers as having a high risk of bias and another as “unclear” in terms of bias risk (medium risk of bias). This does not really fit in with the claimed “comparable solid quality” of all studies.
    • The authors included two active controlled trials, both of which did not include information on the type of treatment of the control group (Filbert et al. 2016 and 2019). In other words, these studies failed to report important data, which was a declared exclusion criterion. Thus, according to the authors’ own criteria, they should not have been included at all. Moreover, it is reasonable to assume that the study Filbert et al. 2019 also may only have the status of a pilot study, as their authors themselves point out that it is about a “feasibility-testing of two treatments and a methodology”.
    • One of the papers (Jacobs et al. 2005) was only a pilot study, which does not belong into a systematic review, and also produced a negative result. The statement in the review that the comparison between verum and placebo was positive for the homeopathy group cannot be understood according to the data in the original study.
    • Jones (2009) is a dissertation that cannot be considered a study and was published without any peer review.
    • Frei et al. (2005) is well known and much discussed,[3][4] a crossover study (change of therapy in the groups), from which evidence could only be read with a lot of effort and a homeopathic view and which could only fulfil the methodological requirements of an RCT in the crossover phase (one of four).[5] In part, its results even speak against homeopathy. This work was also evaluated accordingly in the aforementioned review by Coulter & Dean (2007); in contrast, here Gaertner et al. award Frei’s work the highest quality level in all criteria defined by them.

What remains? The work of Oberai et al. from 2013. Indeed, at first glance, this one shows the greatest significance (p-value 0.000, so something like the statistical equivalent of the real truth …) and a relevant clinical effect of homeopathic therapy. And indeed, Oberai is the “cash cow” of the review, because this study alone is causal for the fact that “overall” a “positive result” was reported.

Therefore, a closer look at this.

    • Also in the case of Oberai et al. it was only a (nine year old) pilot study that was never followed by a main study (or one never got published).
    • The publication was in a somewhat dubious journal that is also not associated with the major medical databases such as MedLine.
    • The reporting on the study is very meagre. For example, it is not clear how the ADHD diagnoses were verified in the patients. (Comparable would only be cases in which the diagnoses were made strictly according to the criteria of the ICD / DSM, the international diagnostic classifications).
    • The control group received only placebo for one year. If this is not an ethical problem … at least in the case of a confirmed ADHD diagnosis, one has to ask.
      Strange is the authors’ statement that “acute symptoms” were also treated with homeopathy in the control group during the study period. This simply nullifies any claim that a “placebo-controlled study” was carried out.
    • Only patients were blinded, not the study staff. So it is not a “double-blind” study either – with all the risks that one tries to avoid with the “gold standard” of the controlled, randomised double-blind study (RCT).

And THAT is the “hard core” of the review by Gaertner et al. ? Around which the work has built a “framing”, so to speak, from a handful of other, even less valid works? Really?

Edzard Ernst points out that even according to the review authors’ own exclusion criteria, the study by Oberai et al. should not have been included. Why was it included anyway? Perhaps because there would have been no more “fuel” for a positive result of any kind? We are only asking …

The result of a closer look at the included studies and their evaluation is that this review does not justify the conclusion formulated by the authors that an individual homeopathic treatment of ADHD has a clinically relevant and statistically robust effect in the treatment of ADHD.

And this does not even address further questions. For example, the study selection covered the period from 1980 onwards – since then a lot has changed in the diagnostic classifications as well as in the standard therapies for ADHD. So it would be quite questionable what was actually compared with what. But let’s leave it at that – the conclusion remains that this review should not have taken the obstacles for publication in a renowned journal. Whether this could be communicated to the journal would be a question that still needs to be clarified.


[1] Sciutto, M. J.; Eisenberg, M. (2007): Evaluating the evidence for and against the overdiagnosis of ADHD. In: Journal of attention disorders. Bd. 11, Nr. 2, Sept. 2007, S. 106–113.

[2]  https://www.rki.de/DE/Content/Gesundheitsmonitoring/Studien/Kiggs/Basiserhebung/GPA_Daten/ADHS.pdf (in German)

[3] http://www.beweisaufnahme-homoeopathie.de/?p=110 (in German)

[4] http://www.beweisaufnahme-homoeopathie.de/?p=1297 (in German)

[5] https://www.homöopedia.eu/index.php?Title=Artikel:Oft_gehörte_Argumente_-_Verweise_auf_konkrete_Studien_und_Experimente#ADHS-Studie_von_Heiner_Frei (in German)


Picture: Screenshot Twitter (Timothy Caulfield)

One Reply to “ADHD and homeopathy – a new review. What’s in it?”

Comments are closed.

Top

ADHS und Homöopathie – ein neuer Review. Was ist dran?

Lesedauer / Reading Time: 6 min
Anmerkungen: TIm Caulfield

Auf Twitter schlug vor einigen Tagen ein Thread des kanadischen Gesundheitswissenschaftlers und Skeptikers Timothy Caulfield Wellen. Caulfield bezog sich auf ein systematisches Review zur ADHS-Behandlung mit individueller Homöopathie, insbesondere darauf, dass ein zur Springer Nature Publishing Group gehörendes Journal (Pediatric Research) dieses veröffentlicht hatte. Caulfield konstatierte, dass Homöopathie eine Methode ohne jegliche positive Evidenz sei („scientifically absurd“) und äußerte Unverständnis darüber, wie so etwas überhaupt in einem so renommierten Journal erscheinen könne. Wo sei das Board of Editors gewesen, wie sei die Sache durch das Peer Review gekommen?

Dabei geht es um die Arbeit Gaertner, K., Teut, M. & Walach, H. Is homeopathy effective for attention deficit and hyperactivity disorder? A meta-analysis. Pediatr Res (2022). https://doi.org/10.1038/s41390-022-02127-3

Zudem entzündete sich Caulfields Kritik auch am Autorenteam, alles ausgewiesene Angehörige der homöopathischen Szene und mit dem nicht unbekannten Prof. Harald Walach als Senior Autor, einer Persönlichkeit, deren wissenschaftliches Renommee gerade in den letzten Pandemie-Jahren nicht gerade gewachsen ist. Aber wir wollen ja kein ad hominem in den Vordergrund rücken. – wenn auch die AutorInnen ihren „bias“ demonstrieren, indem sie gleich zu Anfang die Wirksamkeit der Homöopathie für eine ganze Reihe von Krankheitsbildern als Fakt hinstellen. Und dass in die Einleitung gleich auch noch die Falschbehauptung [1][2] eingeflochten wurde, die Prävalenz von ADHS (die Erkrankungshäufigkeit bezogen auf die Gesamtbevölkerung) steige stetig an, stimmt nicht unbedingt erwartungsvoller.

Und nicht zu vergessen: wer anerkennt, dass die Grundannahmen der Homöopathie wie ein generelles Ähnlichkeitsprinzip in der Natur und eine Wirkungsverstärkung durch Verschüttelung keine Geltung haben können, der kann empirische Ergebnisse auf dieser Basis auch nur als falsch-positiv bewerten. Zumal Herr Walach die „Wirkung“ der Homöopathie wiederholt als „nicht-materiell“ bezeichnet – also eigentlich aus dem Gegenstand wissenschaftlicher Forschung herausgerückt hat. Sich aber nun hier trotzdem  – wiederholt – an einem empirischen Beleg pro Homöopathie versucht.

Nun, wir können Caulfields Kritik an der Veröffentlichung als solcher durchaus nachvollziehen. Natürlich reflektiert er darauf, dass ja gerade „Nature“ besonders zu kritisieren sei wegen seiner skeptisch-kritischen Tradition. Nature ist groß gemacht worden vom legendären Herausgeber John Maddox, der seinerzeit die „Wassergedächtnis“-Experimente von Benveniste entzauberte und nach dem heute ein wichtiger Preis für das Eintreten gegen Pseudowissenschaften benannt ist. Und ja, es ist richtig, Homöopathie vom Grundsatz her zu kritisieren und über die medizinstatistische (Nicht-) Evidenz auch die grundlegende Unplausibilität der homöopathischen Grundannahmen in eine gesamtwissenschaftliche Beurteilung einzubeziehen. Wir erinnern uns an einen ähnlichen Vorgang, bei dem sich die Mutterzeitschrift auch selbst eingeschaltet hatte und es dann zu einem Zurückziehen der Arbeit kam („Die Legende von den fünfmal acht Ratten“).

Nun wird ein kleiner oder auch mittlerer Twitter-Sturm wenig Auswirkungen darauf haben, dass dieser Review veröffentlicht ist und real existiert und ohne jeden Zweifel als ein weiteres Aushängeschild für die homöopathische Szene dienen wird. Der Sache „beikommen“ wird man nur über eine genauere Analyse dieses Reviews.

Eine solche ist aktuell bereits auf dem Blog von Prof. Edzard Ernst erschienen – und lässt die Frage, wo das Editors Board den Kopf und die Reviewer ihre fünf Sinne hatten, als höchst berechtigt erscheinen.

Wir fassen zusammen:

Vorab sei erwähnt, dass die bisherige Evidenz zur homöopathischen Behandlung von ADHS (englisch: ADHD) mehr als mager war. Das negative Ergebnis eines in der Cochrane Library erschienenen Reviews (Coulter und Dean 2007) war bislang der Stand der Dinge. Dort kam man zu dem Ergebnis:

„Dieses Review zielte darauf ab, die Evidenz für die Homöopathie als Intervention bei Aufmerksamkeitsdefizit-/Hyperaktivitätsstörungen zu bewerten. Vier Studien wurden abgerufen und mit unterschiedlichen Ergebnissen bewertet.

Insgesamt fanden die Ergebnisse dieses Reviews keine Hinweise auf die Wirksamkeit der Homöopathie für die globalen Symptome, die Kernsymptome oder die damit verbundenen Auswirkungen der Aufmerksamkeitsdefizit-/Hyperaktivitätsstörung.“

Schauen wir uns jedoch kritisch, aber unvoreingenommen einmal an, wie Gaertner et al. zu ihrem Ergebnis kommen, dass „die individualisierte Homöopathie eine klinisch relevante und statistisch robuste Wirkung bei der Behandlung von ADHS zeigte“.

Der Review, also die Aus- und Bewertung einschlägiger Studien, umfasste sechs Arbeiten, eine wurde wegen fehlenden data reportings (richtigerweise) vorab ausgeschlossen, weil eine Effektstärke nicht berechnet werden konnte. Gegenstand eines systematischen Reviews ist bekanntlich die kritische Bewertung („critical appraisal“) der eingeschlossenen Studien und das daraus zu ziehende Fazit. Sind die eingeschlossenen Arbeiten von Gaertner et al. ausreichend kritisch bewertet worden? Die Autoren halten selbst fest, dass „alle eingeschlossenen Studien individualisierte Homöopathie einsetzten und von vergleichbarer, solider Qualität waren, so dass ein Mangel an methodischer Strenge wahrscheinlich nicht der Grund für den Unterschied zwischen Homöopathie und Kontrollen ist…“. Man will also gleich von vornherein methodischer Kritik vorbeugen.

Aber ist das so?

Vielleicht doch nicht.

    • Die eigene Einstufung der Autoren sieht drei der sechs eingeschlossenen Arbeiten mit einem hohen Verzerrungsrisiko (high risk of bias) und eine weitere hinsichtlich des Bias-Risikos als „unklar“ (medium risk of bais) an. Das will schon einmal nicht so recht zu der „vergleichbaren soliden Qualität“ aller Studien passen.
    • Die Autoren schlossen zwei aktiv kontrollierte Studien ein, die beide keine Angaben zur Art der Behandlung der Kontrollgruppe enthielten (Filbert et al. 2016 und 2019). Mit anderen Worten: Diese Studien haben es versäumt, wichtige Daten zu berichten, was ein erklärtes Ausschlusskriterium war. Sie hätten also nach den eigenen Kriterien der Autoren gar nicht mit einbezogen werden dürfen. Außerdem ist die Vermutung berechtigt, dass der Arbeit Filbert et al. 2019 auch nur der Status einer Pilotstudie zukommt, die Autoren weisen selbst darauf hin, dass es um ein „feasibility-testing of two treatments and a methodology“ gehe – also eine Art Machbarkeitsanalyse.
    • Eine der Arbeiten (Jacobs et al. 2005) war lediglich eine Pilotstudie, die nicht in ein systematisches Review gehört, und erbrachte zudem ein negatives Ergebnis. Die Angabe im Review, der Vergleich Verum / Placebo sei positiv für die Homöopathiegruppe ausgefallen, ist nach den Daten in der Originalarbeit nicht nachzuvollziehen.
    • Jones (2009) ist eine Disseration („thesis“)  die man nicht als Studie werten kann, zudem ohne jedes peer review veröffentlicht.
    • Frei et al. (2005) ist wohlbekannt und vieldiskutiert,[3][4] eine Crossover-Studie (Wechsel der Therapie in den Gruppen), aus der eine Evidenz nur mit vieler Mühe und homöopathischem Blick herausgelesen werden könnte und die die methodischen Anforderungen an ein RCT allenfalls in der Crossover-Phase (einer von vier) erfüllen konnte.[5] Teils sprechen ihre Ergebnisse sogar gegen die Homöopathie. Entsprechend wurde diese Arbeit im erwähnten Review von Coulter & Dean (2007) auch bewertet, im Gegensatz dazu sprechen hier Gaertner et al. der Arbeit von Frei in allen von ihnen definierten Kriterien die höchste Qualitätsstufe zu.

Was bleibt? Die Arbeit von Oberai et al. aus 2013. In der Tat, diese hier weist auf den ersten Blick die größte Signifikanz (p-Wert 0,000, also so was wie das statistische Äquivalent der wahren Wahrheit …) und einen relevanten klinischen Effekt der homöopathischen Therapie auf. Und in der Tat, Oberai ist die „cash cow“ des Reviews, denn allein diese Studie ist ursächlich dafür, dass „insgesamt“ ein „positives Ergebnis“ berichtet wurde.

Deshalb hierauf ein näherer Blick.

    • Auch im Falle von Oberai et al. handelte es sich nur um eine (neun Jahre alte) Pilotstudie, der nie eine Hauptstudie gefolgt ist (oder eine solche nie zur Veröffentlichung kam).
    • Die Veröffentlichung erfolgte in einem etwas zweifelhaften Journal, das auch nicht mit den großen medizinischen Datenbanken wie MedLine assoziiert ist.
    • Das Reporting zur Studie ist sehr mager. So ist z.B. nicht ersichtlich, wie die ADHS-Diagnosen bei den PatientInnen verifiziert wurden. (Vergleichbar wären nur Fälle, in denen die Diagnosen strikt nach den Kritieren des ICD / des DSM, den internationalen Diagnoseklassifikationen, gestellt waren).
    • Die Kontrollgruppe erhielt ein Jahr lang ausschließlich Placebo. Wenn das kein ethisches Problem ist … jedenfalls bei gesicherter ADHS-Diagnose muss man das schon fragen.
    • Seltsam ist die Angabe der Autoren, „akute Symptome“ seien im Studienzeitraum auch in der Kontrollgruppe mit Homöopathie behandelt worden. Damit ist jeder Anspruch, man habe eine „placebokontrollierte Studie“ durchgeführt, schlicht dahin.
    • Nur PatientInnen waren verblindet, nicht das Prüfungspersonal. Eine „doppelt verblindete“ Studie ist es also auch nicht – mit allen Risiken, die man durch den „Goldstandard“ der kontrollierten, randomisierten Doppelblindstudie (RCT) ja zu vermeiden sucht.

Und DAS ist der „harte Kern“ des Reviews von Gaertner et al.? Um den herum die Arbeit sozusagen ein „Framing“ aus einer Handvoll anderer, selbst auch wenig valider Arbeiten errichtet hat? Tatsächlich?

Edzard Ernst weist darauf hin, dass schon nach den eigenen Ausschlusskriterien der Review-Autoren die Studie von Oberai et al. gar nicht hätte mit aufgenommen werden dürfen. Warum trotzdem geschehen? Vielleicht, weil man dann gar keinen „Bringer“ mehr für ein irgendwie positives Ergebnis gehabt hätte? Wir fragen ja nur …

Es bleibt als Ergebnis einer näheren Betrachtung der eingeschlossenen Studien und ihrer Bewertung, dass dieser Review die von den Autoren formulierte Schlussfolgerung, eine individuelle homöopathische Behandlung von ADHS zeuge eine klinisch relevante und statistisch robuste Wirkung bei der Behandlung von ADHS, nicht rechtfertigt.

Und dabei sind weitere Fragen noch gar nicht angesprochen. Z.B. umfasste die Studienauswahl den Zeitraum ab 1980 – seitdem hat sich sehr viel an den Diagnose-Klassifikationen wie auch an den Standardtherapien bei ADHS geändert. Es wäre also durchaus hinterfragbar, was eigentlich womit verglichen wurde. Aber lassen wir es dabei – es bleibt als Fazit, dass dieser Review die Hindernisse für eine Veröffentlichung in einem renommierten Journal nicht hätte nehmen dürfen. Ob dem Journal das vermittelt werden könnte, wäre eine noch zu klärende Frage.


[1] Sciutto, M. J.; Eisenberg, M. (2007): Evaluating the evidence for and against the overdiagnosis of ADHD. In: Journal of attention disorders. Bd. 11, Nr. 2, Sept. 2007, S. 106–113.

[2]  https://www.rki.de/DE/Content/Gesundheitsmonitoring/Studien/Kiggs/Basiserhebung/GPA_Daten/ADHS.pdf

[3] http://www.beweisaufnahme-homoeopathie.de/?p=110

[4] http://www.beweisaufnahme-homoeopathie.de/?p=1297

[5] https://www.homöopedia.eu/index.php?Title=Artikel:Oft_gehörte_Argumente_-_Verweise_auf_konkrete_Studien_und_Experimente#ADHS-Studie_von_Heiner_Frei


Bild: Screenshot Twitter (Timothy Caulfield)

Eine Antwort auf „ADHS und Homöopathie – ein neuer Review. Was ist dran?“

Kommentare sind geschlossen.

Top