What does the German “internal consensus” mean?

Lesedauer / Reading Time: 5 min

This text describes the topic “Homoeopathy in German Pharmaceutical Law”.

Decorative
Anyway, WE all agree…

In 1976, consultations began on a fundamental reorganisation of German pharmaceutical law. By and large, the state’s involvement in the pharmaceutical industry previously consisted of little more than a “registration” of drugs placed on the market under the responsibility of pharmaceutical manufacturers.

It had taken a long time for the legislature to consider its own responsibility in the field of drug supply. A trigger for this was the thalidomide scandal of the 1960s. This terrible process, in which neither the manufacturer nor the state authorities presented a particularly happy picture, gradually led to a growing awareness of the need for action – yet it still took 17 years before a fundamental reorganisation took place.

The basic approach of the new Medicines Act was to replace the mere registration with an “approval procedure” for pharmaceutical medicinal products and to link this to scientifically substantiated evidence of efficacy and side effects. The parliamentary and extra-parliamentary discussion dragged on for more than two years – in the end, the “Medicines Act 1978” (Arzneimittelgesetz) was passed. This marked a move away from a largely individual-empirical based therapy towards a drug therapy on as objective a basis as possible. All old remedies already registered at that time were subjected to a subsequent approval procedure, and many were no longer approved – often to the chagrin of doctors who had been using these remedies for a long time for “empirical medicine”. Even the pharmaceuticals marketed in the former GDR at the time of reunification were subject to such a subsequent approval procedure.

So far, so remarkable. So are all available medicines based on scientifically proven efficacy?

Not at all.

A very active parliamentary and also extra-parliamentary lobby succeeded in obtaining special rights for the “Erfahrungsheilkunde” ( experience medicine), to which apart from homeopathy anthroposophy and herbal medicine were added (how these three are connected is a story in itself). At that time it could be suggested to the parliamentarians in the context of the upcoming “innovations” that the “empirical medicine” of these directions pursues a completely different “approach” and that the principle of scientific proof, so to speak, bypasses the “peculiarities” of these directions. The parliamentary paper at that time speaks volumes and is quite interesting to read. [1]

Many parliamentarians may have been aware that the demand for proven effective drugs has nothing to do with “pluralism in science” and “a fundamentally different approach”, but represents nothing more than a self-evident basic consensus for health care. On the other hand, the representatives of the homeopathic and anthroposophical lobby will have been fully aware that the demand for scientific proof of efficacy would have meant the end for their remedies on the pharmaceutical market. Which, incidentally, was basically an admission that the homeopaths’ claims about the efficacy of their remedies and their great benefit to the patient were not substantially. So it was about something.

And so it came to a complete break with what had actually been the intention of the new law, in favour of what at that time was called “empirical medicine” and understood itself to be a kind of “separate medicine”. Special rules in the AMG established homeopathy, anthroposophy and phytotherapy (herbal medicine) as “special therapeutic directions” and granted them special rights. The proof of efficacy according to recognized scientific methods, actually the purpose and intention of the law for everything that wanted to trade as a drug, was waived on for these remedies.

In order to preserve the appearance of state regulation, it was decided that special commissions were to be set up at the Federal Institute for Drugs and Medical Devices (which at the time was still called differently) for the “special therapeutic directions”. For homeopathics, this is still Commission D today.

The old instrument of simple “registration” was retained for the medicinal products of these “directions”, as long as they were not to be marketed and advertised with a medical indication – as a purely administrative procedure in Division 4 of the BfArM. This department decides whether a remedy is homeopathic at all (of course the simple registration is extraordinarily “popular”) and, according to its own statements, makes this dependent on the “manufacturing process”, i.e. on the application of the principle of potentiated basic substance. In addition, safety and compliance with best practice rules during production are checked.

Those manufacturers who wish to advertise with an indication, i.e. information on areas of application, can submit an “application for approval”. The Commission D has to decide on this application. It bases its decision on “homeopathic knowledge material”, the evaluation of which is reserved for the “experts in the therapeutic direction” within Commission D. The Commission is therefore not responsible for the objective scientific evaluation of this material. On the contrary, such is suspended in favour of an “internal”, i.e. always subjective, expert assessment. In this way the “special therapeutic directions” are namely protected from the requirements of objective science, but at the same time, they also lack any possibility of invoking on this.

To clarify once again: the task of Commission D (and the commissions for the other special therapeutic directions) is not the evaluation of the approved applications of efficacy according to objective scientific criteria, as is the case for normal pharmaceuticals. No, the internal group of “experts” who have the “medical expertise in the therapeutic direction” will decide on the approval and thus the market access of homeopathic medicinal products with indications. Among themselves. In a joint consensus. According to personal perception, opinion or “experience”, according to “internal evidence” instead of intersubjective, generally valid criteria. This situation has remained unchanged since 1978 – on the homepage of Department 4 of the BfArM there is still talk of the relic of “scientific pluralism in the field of drug therapy”, which the legislation (40 years ago) had expressly provided for. Already at that time an anachronism that should not have been followed. [2]

This is the so often invoked “internal consensus” which still privileges homeopathy (and the other “special directions”) in an unacceptable way, even erecting a real protective fence around it. From the legal point of view – and in the general public’s perception – the remedies of the “special therapeutic directions” are just as much “drugs” as any pharmaceutical product that has undergone a testing and approval process that often takes years (only about eight per cent of all new developments in the pharmaceutical industry make it to approval in the first place). Homeopathy – and anthroposophy – are obviously doing their utmost to maintain this special legal regulation. This is because of their integration into the health care system and social security law depends directly on it.

There is nothing in German pharmaceutical law that is more in need of reform.


It should also not go unmentioned that the German legislator has anchored the internal consensus in another place in the law, which in principle would be suitable to open the door to any kind of pseudo-medicine: Namely in paragraph 135 SGB V, “Evaluation of examination and treatment methods”. This stated until 1997:

“New medical procedures can only be paid for by health insurance funds if their effectiveness is recognised according to the respective state of scientific knowledge.”

Due to an initiative from the circle of the CDU parliamentary group, some seemingly harmless words were added in 1997: This means: when approving remedies or methods for reimbursement by the health insurance system, the vote of representatives of any form of therapy would be decisive, if only enough doctors could get together who would be willing to take such a vote on their behalf:

“New medical procedures can only be paid for by health insurance funds if their effectiveness is recognised according to the respective state of scientific knowledge in the respective form of therapy.

This is an unparalleled aberration, which of course must be reversed. The fact that the term “state of scientific knowledge” has been retained throws a telling light on the mindset of those responsible here. Regardless of the wording, we may assume that two “different” states of science were meant here – outside and inside the “respective form of therapy”. Viewed in the light of reason and the valid concept of science, this is nonsense. There are no “two sciences” – one outside and one inside a “particular therapeutic direction”. Science is not divisible. Not even by laws. At least that is how we see it.

However, the expert on whom this amendment to the law is based has had a different sight: he meant that “the (sic!) generally recognised state of medical knowledge” should be determined by the “representatives of the respective special therapeutic directions”. A concept of science that makes one shudder. And something like this is reflected in German social legislation … Truly a relapse into the Middle Ages.


Edit: Specified and extended on 5 July 2019 and 30 June 2021

3 Replies to “What does the German “internal consensus” mean?”

  1. Pingback: Die Homöopathie und der „Binnenkonsens“: Es ging nie um Wirksamkeit, nur um Politik | gwup | die skeptiker
  2. Pingback: „Binnenkonsens“: Wenn’s um Homöopathie geht, schlägt die Stunde der Märchenerzähler | gwup | die skeptiker
  3. Pingback: Das Deutsche Tierärzteblatt und die Homöopathie | Informations­netzwerk Homöopathie

Comments are closed.

Binnenkonsens: Was ist das eigentlich?

Zuletzt aktualisiert / Last modified:

Auf dem Bild zeigen vier Finger von vier Händen auf das Mittelfeld eines Puzzles und symbolisieren damit den Binnenkonsens. Im Jahre 1976 begannen die Beratungen zu einer grundlegenden Neuordnung des deutschen Arzneimittelrechts. Im Großen und Ganzen bestand vorher die staatliche Beteiligung am Arzneimittelwesen in nicht viel mehr als einer „Registrierung“ von Arzneimitteln, die in der Verantwortung der Pharmahersteller auf den Markt gebracht wurden.

Es hatte lange gedauert, bis der Gesetzgeber sich auf eine eigene Verantwortung im Bereich der Arzneimittelversorgung besann. Ein Auslöser hierfür war der Contergan-Skandal der 1960er Jahre. An diesem schrecklichen Vorgang, bei dem weder der Hersteller noch die staatlichen Stellen ein besonders glückliches Bild abgaben, wuchs dann das Bewusstsein für einen Handlungsbedarf.

Der Grundansatz des neuen Arzneimittelgesetzes war, die Registrierung durch eine „Zulassung“ von pharmazeutischen Arzneimitteln zu ersetzen und diese an wissenschaftlich fundierte Nachweise von Wirkung und Nebenwirkungen zu knüpfen.  Die parlamentarische und außerparlamentarische Diskussion zog sich über gut zwei Jahre hin – am Ende stand das „Arzneimittelgesetz 1978“ (AMG). Damit wurde die Abkehr von einer weitgehend individuell-erfahrungsbasierten hin zu einer auf möglichst objektivierbaren Grundlagen beruhenden Arzneimitteltherapie vollzogen. Alle damals bereits registrierten Altmittel wurden einem sogenannten Nachzulassungsverfahren unterzogen, viele erhielten keine Zulassung mehr – oft zum Leidwesen von Ärzten, die mit diesen Mitteln lange Zeit eben „Erfahrungsheilkunde“ betrieben hatten. Selbst die in der damaligen DDR zum Zeitpunkt der Wiedervereinigung marktgängigen Pharmazeutika unterlagen einem solchen Nachzulassungsverfahren.

So weit, so bemerkenswert. Also stehen alle erhältlichen Arzneimittel auf dem Boden wissenschaftlich belegter Wirksamkeitsnachweise?

Mitnichten.

Einer sehr rührigen parlamentarischen und auch außerparlamentarischen Lobby war es nämlich bei den Beratungen zum AMG 1978 gelungen, Sonderrechte für die damals so bezeichnete „Erfahrungsheilkunde“ zu erlangen, wozu neben der Homöopathie auch die Anthroposophie und die Pflanzenheilkunde gezählt wurden (wie diese drei zusammenhängen, ist eine Geschichte für sich). Damals konnte den Parlamentariern im Rahmen der anstehenden „Neuerungen“ suggeriert werden, dass die „Erfahrungsheilkunde“ dieser Richtungen einen ganz anderen „Ansatz“ verfolge (was genau so aktuell wieder als „Pluralismus in der Medizin“ eingefordert wird) und der Grundsatz des wissenschaftlichen Nachweises sozusagen an den „Besonderheiten“ dieser Richtungen vorbeigehe. Die damalige Bundestagsdrucksache hierzu spricht Bände und ist durchaus interessant zu lesen. [1]

So manchem Parlamentarier dürfte durchaus klar gewesen sein, dass die Forderung nach nachgewiesen wirksamen Arzneimitteln nichts mit „Pluralismus in der Wissenschaft“ und „grundsätzlich anderem Ansatz“ zu tun hat, sondern nichts anderes darstellt als einen selbstverständlichen Grundkonsens für die Gesundheitsversorgung. Es ging – und geht heute noch – einfach um die Abgrenzung von nachweislich wirksamer Medizin zu allem, was einen solchen Nachweis nicht erbringen kann. Es wird den Vertretern der homöopathischen und anthroposophischen Lobby völlig bewusst gewesen sein, dass für ihre Mittel die Forderung eines wissenschaftlichen Wirkungsnachweises praktisch das komplette Aus auf dem Arzneimittelmarkt bedeutet hätte. Was, nebenbei bemerkt, im Grunde ein Eingeständnis war, dass die Behauptungen der Homöopathen zur Wirksamkeit ihrer Mittel und deren großen Nutzen für den Patienten nicht belegbar waren. Es ging also um etwas.

Und so kam es zu einem glatten Bruch mit dem, was eigentlich Intention des neuen Gesetzes gewesen war, zugunsten dessen, was damals als „Erfahrungsheilkunde“ bezeichnet wurde und sich als eine Art „zweite Medizin“ zu präsentieren verstand. Sonderregelungem im AMG etablierten die Homöopathie, die Anthroposophie und die Phytotherapie (Pflanzenheilkunde) als „besondere Therapierichtungen“ und statteten sie mit Sonderrechten aus. Auf einen Wirksamkeitsnachweis nach anerkannten wissenschaftlichen Methoden, wie er eigentlich für alles, was als Arzneimittel firmieren will,  der Sinn und die Intention des Gesetzes gewesen war, wurde für diese Mittel verzichtet.

Um den Anschein einer staatlichen Regulierung zu wahren, wurde bestimmt, dass für die Mittel der „besonderen Therapierichtungen“ besondere Kommissionen beim Bundesinstitut für Arzneimittel und Medizinprodukte (das damals noch anders hieß) einzurichten seien. Für die Homöopathika ist dies auch heute noch die Kommission D.

Das alte Instrument der einfachen „Registrierung“ wurde für die Arzneimittel dieser „Richtungen“ beibehalten, sofern sie nicht mit einer medizinischen Indikation vertrieben und beworben werden sollten – als rein verwaltungstechnischer Vorgang bei der Abteilung 4 des BfArM. Diese Dienststelle entscheidet, ob es sich überhaupt um Homöopathika handelt (natürlich ist die einfache Registrierung außerordentlich „beliebt“) und macht dies nach eigenem Bekunden vom „Herstellungsverfahren“ abhängig, also von der Anwendung des Prinzips der potenzierten Ursubstanz. Zudem wird noch auf Sicherheit und die Einhaltung von Best-Practice-Regeln bei der Produktion geprüft.

Diejenigen Hersteller, die mit einer Indikation, also einer Information über Anwendungsgebiete werben wollen, können einen „Antrag auf Zulassung“ stellen. Über diesen hatte und hat die Kommission D zu befinden. Sie stützt sich dabei auf „homöopathisches Erkenntnismaterial“, dessen Bewertung den „Fachleuten der Therapierichtung“ innerhalb der Kommission D vorbehalten ist. Ersichtlich fehlt es am Maßstab der anerkannten wissenschaftlichen Methodik und der für ein wissenschaftlich fundiertes Vorgehen unumgänglichen Intersubjektivität – im Gegenteil, diese wird zugunsten einer „fachinternen“, mithin stets subjektiven  Begutachtung ausgeklammert.  Auf diese Weise werden zwar die „besonderen Therapierichtungen“ vor den Anforderungen objektiver Wissenschaftlichkeit geschützt, gleichzeitig fehlt ihnen aber infolgedessen auch jede Möglichkeit, sich auf eine solche zu berufen.

Nochmals zur Verdeutlichung: Die Aufgabe der Kommission D (und der Kommissionen für die anderen besonderen Therapierichtungen) ist nicht etwa die Bewertung der Zulassungsanträge nach objektiven wissenschaftlichen Kriterien, wie dies für normale Pharmazeutika der Fall ist. Nein, dort wird im internen Kreis von „Fachleuten“, die über den „medizinischen Sachverstand der Therapierichtung“ verfügen, über die Zulassung und damit den Marktzugang von Homöopathika mit Indikationsangabe befunden. Unter sich. Im gemeinsamen Konsens. Nach Maßgabe persönlicher Wahrnehmung, Meinung oder „Erfahrung“, nach „interner Evidenz“ statt nach intersubjektiven, allgemeingültigen Kriterien. Diese Situation ist seit 1978 unverändert – auf der Homepage der Abteilung 4 des BfArM ist nach wie vor von dem Relikt  eines „Wissenschaftspluralismus auf dem Gebiet der Arzneimitteltherapie“ die Rede, den die Gesetzgebung  (vor 40 Jahren) ausdrücklich vorgesehen habe. Schon damals ein Anachronismus, dem nicht hätte gefolgt werden dürfen. [2]

Dies ist der so oft beschworene „Binnenkonsens“, der bis heute die Homöopathie (und die anderen „besonderen Therapierichtungen“) in unvertretbarer Weise privilegiert, ja, einen regelrechten Schutzzaun um diese errichtet. Während sich seit dem Inkrafttreten des AMG 1978 die Regeln und Methoden für Wirksamkeits- und Nebenwirkungsnachweise für alle anderen Pharmazeutika immer mehr verbessert und verfeinert haben (auf dem Gebiet wissenschaftlicher Methodik ebenso wie bei den rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen), tagt nach wie vor unbeirrt die Kommission D und befindet nach dem Gusto einiger weniger Persönlichkeiten, die erklärtermaßen der Lobby der „Therapierichtung“ angehören, über den Marktzugang von Mitteln. Von Mitteln, die rechtlich – und in der Wahrnehmung der Allgemeinheit – genauso „Arzneimittel“ sind wie jedes pharmazeutische Produkt, das einen oft jahrelangen Prüf- und Zulassungsprozess durchlaufen hat (nur etwa acht Prozent aller Neuentwicklungen der pharmazeutischen Industrie schaffen es überhaupt bis zur Zulassung). Um den Erhalt dieser gesetzlichen Sonderregelung bemüht sich die Homöopathie – und die Anthroposophie – sichtlich nach Kräften. Denn davon hängt ihre Verankerung im Gesundheitswesen unmittelbar und die im Sozialversicherungsrecht mittelbar ab.

Es gibt nichts im deutschen Arzneimittelrecht, was reformbedürftiger wäre.


[1] http://dipbt.bundestag.de/doc/btd/07/050/0705091.pdf

[2] https://www.bfarm.de/DE/Arzneimittel/Arzneimittelzulassung/Zulassungsarten/BesondereTherapierichtungen/_node.html


Edit: Präzisiert und erweitert am 05.07.2019

Eine Antwort auf „Binnenkonsens: Was ist das eigentlich?“

Kommentare sind geschlossen.

Top